THSBOA | New Executive Committee begins term
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-15680,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-9.1.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

New Executive Committee begins term

28 Apr New Executive Committee begins term

Austin, TX; April 24, 2016 – Texas High School Basketball Officials Association State Board representatives have elected Eddie Hopkins as its new Executive Chair.

Eddie Hopkins, previously the Acting Chair of the Rules and Policy Committee, will represent THSBOA in this position for the next two years.  Eddie is a member of the Stephen F. Austin Chapter.  He brings with him a wealth of experience in officiating at all levels of the game.  Eddie began officiating in 1979 and throughout his career has officiated numerous UIL Regional and State Tournaments and various Collegiate Conference Tournaments and NCAA Tournaments.

In further action, the Board elected Mike Yell of the Amarillo Chapter as the new Executive Vice-Chair.

Mike Yell, previously the Acting Chair of the Recruitment and Ethics Committee, comes with 33 years officiating experience at various levels of the game and numerous leadership roles in the Amarillo Chapter.

Three additional board members were appointed to the Executive Committee.

James Moye serves as Chair of the Appropriations and Oversight Committee.  James has been officiating since 1978 and a member of the Longview Basketball chapter since 1985.  James’ background includes education administration and various leadership positions in the chapter.

Don Johnson serves as Chair of the Education Committee.  Don is a member of the Beeville Basketball Chapter and has been officiating 32 years.

Lawrence Wren serves as Chair of the Chapter Committee.  Lawrence has been officiating for 33 years and a member of the Temple Basketball Chapter for 22 years.

These five members replace the prior Executive Committee whose term ended on Saturday, April 23.  THSBOA expresses their gratitude for the service given by the prior executive committee whose leadership and time has been invaluable.  Thank you to Kelly Copeland of Lubbock, former Executive Chair; Cleveland Land of Gulf Coast, Executive Vice-Chair; Don Patty of Wichita Falls; and Jose Villafranca of Abilene.

No Comments

Post A Comment